Saved

Is your e-bike actually legal? We checked Australia's most popular e-bikes, one by one

169 e-bikes checked. 147 are road-legal pedal-assist bikes, 16 are off-road only on their listed specification.

In September 2026 the crackdown got real. On Friday 12 September, NSW Police and Transport for NSW seized 36 illegal e-bikes across Sydney's Northern Beaches in Operation E-Voltage, the first blitz since new laws let officers confiscate and crush non-compliant e-bikes. Police tested bikes on the spot with a dynamometer, and one machine ridden by a 14 year old could top 90km/h. Queensland's own e-bike and e-scooter rules commenced on 31 August. So the question a lot of riders are suddenly asking is simple: is my e-bike actually legal?

Here is the rule in one line. A road-legal e-bike in Australia is a pedal-assist bicycle with a motor rated to 250W that stops helping at 25km/h, and it only assists while you pedal. A hand throttle that drives you along without pedalling puts it outside the bicycle rules. Below is every popular e-bike in our directory, checked on those points. Search a brand, filter by status, and click any model for the full specification.

Laws differ in the detail between states. For the state-by-state breakdown, read our guide to e-bike laws in Australia. The status below reflects each model's listed specification, not any individual modified bike.

169 of 169 e-bikes shown

BrandModelMotorThrottleCuts out at 25km/hRoad legal?Caveat
ADOAir 20 Pro250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Retailer spec sheet lists 250W Bafang H700 motor, torque sensor pedal assist, throttle not supported, 25 km/h top assist. Not independently confirmed against an ADR/road authority document, so held at claimed-by-brand rather than verified.
ADOAir 20 Ultra250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)250W pedal assist cutting at 25 km/h, and the spec sheet states no throttle is fitted or supported. MiBike lists an NSW compliance certificate mark against the Air range.
AMPD BrosAce-X Plus250WNoYesRoad legal (verified)Australian-spec Ace-X Plus is pedal-assist only. The AMPD international range includes throttled variants; do NOT cross-shop those listings, they are not road-legal in AU.
ApolloEon Commuter 20250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano E5000 mid-drive. Pedelec spec for AU.
Arctic LeopardXE Pro R26500WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)Far outside the AU 250W EPAC standard. 74V 60Ah pack, peak output near 26.5kW, throttle only, no pedal assist. Off-road and private-land use only. Figure quoted is peak, not continuous rated output. Torque quoted is wheel torque.
Arctic LeopardXE Pro S20000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)72V 55Ah pack, peak output around 20kW (a 16.8kW variant also exists), top speed near 100 km/h (62 mph), throttle only. Far outside the AU 250W EPAC standard. Off-road and private-land use only. Figure quoted is peak. Torque quoted is wheel torque.
Arctic LeopardXE Pro S Enduro20000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)XE Pro S powertrain on a 21/18 enduro wheel set for rougher terrain. 72V 55Ah, peak output around 20kW, throttle only. Far outside the AU 250W EPAC standard. Off-road and private-land use only. Peak figure. Wheel torque.
Arctic LeopardXF12000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)The compact bike of the range. 72V 35Ah, peak output around 12kW, top speed near 96 km/h (60 mph), 17/14 mini wheels. Still far outside the AU 250W EPAC standard. Off-road and private-land use only. Peak figure. Wheel torque.
AvantiDiscovery-E Low250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano Steps E5000 mid-drive, 250W rated, pedal-assist only, cuts at 25km/h.
AventonAbound SR250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU spec is pedal-assist only. 200 kg total payload capacity per Aventon spec sheet.
AventonAventure 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)BikesOnline-distributed AU spec has the throttle removed. We have not yet seen the per-model EN 15194 declaration; brand asserts compliance, status will be upgraded to 'verified' on production-cycle paperwork.
AventonLevel 3250W rated, 864W peakNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU spec is pedal-assist only, throttle removed. Sensor Switch lets the rider pick torque or cadence sensing. BikesOnline lists the bike but currently does not ship e-bikes to NSW, which matters under the 2026 NSW reset. EN 15194 declaration not yet sighted per model, so status is brand-asserted.
BromptonC Line Electric250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brompton EU and UK spec is EN 15194 compliant. AU units imported to the same specification per Brompton AU distributor.
CannondaleMoterra 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch CX factory torque 85Nm. Higher figures are app firmware unlocks.
CannondaleMoterra LT250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Long-travel enduro build on the shared 2026 Moterra platform.
CubeNuride Hybrid Performance 600250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line drive unit, Smart System. Same 250W/25km/h AU convention applied as the other Bosch Performance Line bikes in this batch; not independently spec checked for this exact unit revision.
CubeNuride Hybrid Pro 600250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX drive unit, confirmed on Bosch AU's own spec sheet at 250W rated continuous output and 25km/h cutoff, pedal assist only, no throttle.
CubeReaction Hybrid Pro 600250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch 250W mid-drive, 25km/h assist cutoff, no throttle.
CubeStereo Hybrid ONE44 HPC Race 800250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX drive unit, confirmed on Bosch AU's own spec sheet at 250W rated continuous output and 25km/h cutoff, pedal assist only, no throttle.
CubeStereo Hybrid ONE77 HPC Race 800250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX drive unit, confirmed on Bosch AU's own spec sheet at 250W rated continuous output and 25km/h cutoff, pedal assist only, no throttle.
CubeSupreme Hybrid ONE 500250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line drive unit, Smart System. Same 250W/25km/h AU convention applied as the other Bosch Performance Line bikes in this batch.
CubeTouring Hybrid ONE 600250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line drive unit. Bosch's AU spec sheet for the closely related Performance Line CX confirms 250W rated continuous output, 25km/h max supported speed, pedal assist only, no throttle. No dated AU compliance declaration for this specific Cube SKU was checked.
CubeTouring Hybrid Pro 625250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch 250W mid-drive, 25km/h assist cutoff, no throttle.
CubeTouring Hybrid Pro 800250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line PX drive unit. Not independently spec checked, but Bosch AU markets its standard Smart System pedelec range (excluding the separate Speed/S-pedelec line, not used here) at 250W rated continuous and 25km/h cutoff; applying that figure by brand convention.
DiroDiRover Gen 6250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)The 250W build is sold as EN 15194 certified and the throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. DiroDi also sells 500W and 1000W versions of the same bike, and states the 1000W is for private property only. Those configurations are not road legal in Australia.
DYUC6250WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Ships with a throttle. AU pedelec law limits throttle-only drive to 200W, so its road-legal status varies by state. Sold widely in Australia.
ENGWEE26250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting.
ENGWEEngine Pro 2.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)ENGWE claims EN 15194 compliance on AU-spec units. Verify throttle configuration before purchase.
ENGWELE20250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting.
ENGWEM20250W rated, 750W peakNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU import shipped as pedelec-only EPAC, 250W sustained rated output. The 750W figure in marketing is peak only. Throttle disabled at controller. EN 15194 declaration not yet sighted; status will upgrade to verified on document review.
EunorauD5 LITE X1.0250WYesYesUnverifiedRated 250W and capped at 25km/h, but fitted with a throttle, a legal grey area for on-road pedelec use. Confirm throttle rules for your state.
EunorauFLASH LITE 2.0250W rated, 750W peakYesYesUnverifiedShips capped at 25km/h with a 250W rated motor (750W peak) but is unlockable and has a throttle, which is a legal grey area on-road. The headline range needs the optional second and third batteries.
EunorauMAX-CARGO X2.0250WYesYesUnverifiedRated 250W and capped at 25km/h, but fitted with a thumb throttle that sits in a legal grey area for on-road pedelec use. Headline range needs the optional second battery. Confirm throttle legality for your state.
EunorauMETA26 X2.0250WYesYesUnverified250W rear hub with a torque sensor and a 25km/h cap sit inside the AU power limit, but the bike ships with a thumb throttle. A strict EN 15194 pedelec does not allow a throttle above walking pace, so confirm throttle legality for your state before riding on the road.
EunorauMETA275 2.0250WYesYesUnverified48V 250W rear hub, torque sensor, capped at 25km/h, but fitted with a thumb throttle, which a strict EN 15194 pedelec does not allow above walking pace. The 140km figure requires the optional second 48V 15Ah battery. Confirm throttle legality for your state before road use.
EunorauSpecter-S 3.01000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)1000W Bafang M620 mid-drive, thumb throttle, 45km/h top assist. This is not a road-legal e-bike in Australia. It is an off-road and private-land machine, marketed by Eunorau as a hunting and fishing bike. Listed with full caveats for buyers comparing serious electric off-road performance.
EunorauSPECTER-ST 2.01000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)1000W mid-drive with an unlockable 45km/h mode and a throttle. This exceeds the Australian 250W and 25km/h pedelec limits and is off-road and private-land use only.
FatboyThe Bagus V2500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Spec sheet lists Motor Rating as '5OOW' (a typo for 500W, confirmed against the identical field on the Harlem and Scrambler pages) with the same in-box throttle and the same 'private property only, isolate for public riding' disclaimer. Treated as non-compliant as shipped for the same reasons as the other two V2 models.
FatboyThe Harlem V2500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Brand's own spec sheet lists Motor Rating as 500W (above the 250W continuous AU road-legal limit) and Speed as '25km/h (50km/h unlocked)'. A throttle ships in the box, ready to install. Brand copy states: 'Throttles are strictly for private property use and should be isolated when riding in public,' which is effectively an admission the throttle-equipped, unlocked configuration is not road legal. The brand's own opinion is that the locked, throttle-isolated 25km/h pedelec mode is inline with NSW EPAC legislation, but that is a claim, not independent certification.
FatboyThe Scrambler V2500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Same spec sheet pattern as the Harlem: Motor Rating listed as 500W and a throttle ships in the box. Speed here is listed simply as 'Restricted to 25 km/h' with no unlock figure quoted, but the same brand disclaimer applies: 'Throttles are strictly for private property use and should be isolated when riding in public.' Treated as non-compliant as shipped; the locked, throttle-isolated mode is only claimed-by-brand as EPAC compliant.
FiidoTitan750WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)750W (1000W peak) with a throttle and an unlocked speed to 45km/h. Sold for off-road and private-property use only. Not a road-legal Australian pedelec.
FocusAventura2 6.7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Focus states the 25 km/h cutoff on the Australian product page.
FocusAventura2 6.8250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Focus states the 25 km/h cutoff on the Australian product page.
FocusJam2 6.7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Fitted with the Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System (BDU384Y) at its standard 85 Nm setting, per Focus's own spec sheet. Bosch's official AU technical data lists this drive unit's rated continuous output as 250W and max supported speed as 25 km/h. Pedal assist only, no throttle, consistent across Bosch's AU/EU lineup.
FocusJarifa2 6.7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Focus states the 25 km/h cutoff on the Australian product page.
FocusThron2 6.7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Focus states the 25 km/h cutoff on the Australian product page.
GiantAnyTour X E+ 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Giant Australia customer service confirmed in a product Q&A: 'The Anytour X E+3 is compliant with all legislation in NSW.' Product page also states pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h per EN15194. Brand statement, not a sighted dated declaration.
GiantExplore E+ 1 Stagger250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Giant states on the product page: pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194), no motor support above this speed. This is a brand statement, not a sighted dated declaration.
GiantExplore E+ 3 Stagger250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Giant states on the product page: pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194), no motor support above this speed. This is a brand statement, not a sighted dated declaration.
GiantReign Advanced E+ 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Motor 90Nm; AU assist capped at 250W nominal and 25km/h. EnergyPak Plus 280 range extender compatible.
GiantReign E+ 1250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Giant states pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194), no motor support above this speed. Brand statement, not a sighted dated declaration.
GiantReign E+ 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Giant states pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194), no motor support above this speed. Brand statement, not a sighted dated declaration.
GiantStance E+ 1250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Motor rated 100Nm peak; AU assist capped at 250W nominal and 25km/h.
GiantTalon E+250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting.
GiantTalon E+ EX250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Crossover commuter and light-trail hardtail. EnergyPak Plus 200 range extender compatible.
KalkhoffEndeavour 3 Move Wave250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Kalkhoff does not sell a 45 km/h S-Pedelec version in Australia.
KalkhoffEntice 3 Excite Belt Wave250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Kalkhoff does not sell a 45 km/h S-Pedelec version in Australia.
KalkhoffEntice 7+ Excite ABS Wave250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Kalkhoff does not sell a 45 km/h S-Pedelec version in Australia.
KalkhoffEntice 7+ Move Wave250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Kalkhoff does not sell a 45 km/h S-Pedelec version in Australia.
KalkhoffImage 5+ Advance Wave250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. Kalkhoff does not sell a 45 km/h S-Pedelec version in Australia.
KTMMacina Ride 291250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Active Line Plus mid-drive, 250W rated, pedal-assist only, cuts at 25km/h.
LeitnerAria250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. Leitner states a throttle can be connected that drives the bike to 25 km/h without pedalling, and that this is not for use on public roads. Ridden that way it would not be road legal in Australia.
LeitnerBerlin Cruiser250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. The throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. Leitner documents an off-road unlock that raises the throttle to 25 km/h, which it states is not for use on public roads.
LeitnerLibelle250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. The throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. Leitner documents an off-road unlock that raises the throttle to 25 km/h, which it states is not for use on public roads.
LeitnerMilan Cruiser250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. The throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. Leitner documents an off-road unlock that raises the throttle to 25 km/h, which it states is not for use on public roads.
LeitnerTirol250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. The throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. Leitner documents an off-road unlock that raises the throttle to 25 km/h, which it states is not for use on public roads.
LeitnerUltimate 700C250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. Unlike the rest of the Leitner range, Leitner does not list a throttle on this model.
LeitnerVenice Cruiser250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W pedelec with assist cutting at 25 km/h. The throttle ships limited to 6 km/h walk assist. Leitner documents an off-road unlock that raises the throttle to 25 km/h, which it states is not for use on public roads.
LekkerAmsterdam GTS250WNoYesRoad legal (verified)-
LekkerJordaan Urban 8sp250WNoYesRoad legal (verified)EN 15194 declaration names model, year and BMS. Pedal-assist only.
LivAmiti E+ 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand states: 'Pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194); no motor support above this speed.' No throttle fitted. Motor nominal wattage not stated on the AU spec sheet so not recorded here; NSW e-bike certification number quoted on page is ULL-104273-EA, the same number shown on the Tempt E+ page (both use the same SyncDrive Sport 2 motor system, brand claim not independently sighted as a dated declaration).
LivEmbolden E+ 0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Top-spec Embolden with Fox suspension and Shimano XT.
LivEmbolden E+ 1250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Motor rated 100Nm peak; AU assist capped at 250W nominal and 25km/h.
LivIntrigue X Advanced E+ Elite 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand states: 'Pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194); no motor support above this speed.' No throttle fitted. Motor nominal wattage not stated on the AU spec sheet so not recorded here; NSW e-bike certification number quoted on page is ULL-104274-EA, same number as the Elite 3 (shared motor/battery system, brand claim not independently sighted as a dated declaration).
LivIntrigue X Advanced E+ Elite 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand states: 'Pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194); no motor support above this speed.' No throttle fitted. Motor nominal wattage not stated on the AU spec sheet so not recorded here; NSW e-bike certification number quoted on page is ULL-104274-EA (brand claim, not independently sighted as a dated declaration).
LivTempt E+250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand states: 'Pedal-assist limited to 25 km/h in accordance with Australian regulations (EN15194); no motor support above this speed.' No throttle fitted. Motor nominal wattage not stated on the AU spec sheet so not recorded here; NSW e-bike certification number quoted on page is ULL-104273-EA (brand claim, not independently sighted as a dated declaration).
MATEX Evo250WNoYesUnverifiedRetailer lists 250 W, 25 km/h cut-off, torque sensor. EN 15194 declaration not yet sighted for the AU unit.
MeridaeBig.Nine 400250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP6, 250W nominal continuous per Shimano's published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle.
MeridaeBIG.TOUR 675 EQ250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Fully equipped trekking hardtail. Shimano EP6 mid-drive, 750Wh battery.
MeridaeFloat City 400 EQ250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Retailer copy explicitly states "Bosch 250W motor with 75Nm torque", pedal-assist only, no throttle mentioned anywhere in the listing.
MeridaeOne-Forty 400250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP801, 250W nominal continuous per Shimano's published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle.
MeridaeOne-Sixty 400250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP801, 250W nominal continuous per Shimano's published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle.
MeridaeOne-Sixty 675250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU spec uses the 712Wh battery. Frame is rated to 750Wh.
MeridaeOne-Sixty 8000250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP801, 250W nominal continuous per Shimano's published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle.
MeridaeSpeeder 400 EQ250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)MAHLE X35+ rear-hub motor. 250W continuous rated, pedal-assist only, 25 km/h cut-off. Includes fenders, rear rack, integrated Lezyne rear light.
MeridaeSpresso CC 300 EQ SE250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP5 is a 250W nominal continuous pedelec motor per Shimano's own published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle. Retailer copy doesn't restate wattage explicitly.
MeridaeSpresso CC 400 EQ250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP6 is Shimano's standard pedelec mid-drive: 250W nominal continuous rated output per Shimano's own spec sheets, pedal-assist only, no throttle. Retailer copy states torque and battery but doesn't restate wattage; wattage claim is Shimano's published spec for this motor family, not an AU-specific declaration seen firsthand.
MeridaeSpresso City 300 EQ SE250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STePS EP5, 250W nominal continuous per Shimano's published spec, pedal-assist only, no throttle.
MoustacheMardi 27.4 Belt250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line PX Smart System, 250W rated, pedal-assist only, cuts at 25km/h. Belt drive with a Nexus 5-speed hub.
NCMCG7250W rated, 500W peakNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand claims EPAC EN15194. Torque sensor motor confirmed in product specs. Pedal-assist only. 180 kg total load capacity (rider plus bike including battery). GPS tag technology built into battery.
NCMM7250W rated, 500W peakNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand claims EPAC EN15194. Pedal-assist only. 500W is peak, not continuous rated output. GPS tag technology built into battery.
NCMT3250W rated, 500W peakYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand claims EPAC EN15194. 2025 model ships with Das-Kit T6 throttle as standard equipment. Buyer should confirm whether throttle operates above 6 km/h walk-assist mode before use in QLD from July 2026 onwards.
NCMT7250W rated, 500W peakNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand claims EPAC EN15194 (limited to 25 km/h, 250W). Pedal-assist only on AU spec.
NorcoFluid VLT A2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano EP8 250W mid-drive, 25km/h cap, no throttle. Run-out 2024 model.
NorcoRange VLT CX C2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX (BDU384Y), Bosch's own AU spec page lists 250W rated continuous output, 25 km/h max supported speed, pedal-assist only (torque and cadence sensors, no throttle). The bike ships with the standard-supplied 85Nm torque setting per the same Bosch page, matching the retailer's spec sheet.
NorcoScene VLT250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano STEPS E6100 mid-drive, pedal-assist only, no throttle. Shimano's own spec pages list this as a 250W-class, 25 km/h pedelec drive unit; this is the manufacturer's published spec, not a sighted dated AU compliance declaration, so marked claimed-by-brand rather than verified.
NorcoSight VLT Bosch A3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line PX drive unit, part of Bosch's 'smart system' family. Bosch AU's own spec pages for this drive-unit family (Performance Line / Performance Line CX) list 250W rated continuous output and 25 km/h max supported speed, pedal-assist only, no throttle. Retailer copy quotes 90Nm / 700W peak for the PX unit specifically; that peak figure is not the same as the 250W continuous rating used for AU road-legal classification.
OrbeaDenna H50250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Shimano EP600 mid-drive, 250W rated, pedal-assist only, cuts at 25km/h. An optional 210Wh range extender is available.
PedalBreeze E4250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand's own spec sheet: 250W rear hub, 25km/h pedal-assist cutoff, no throttle. No formal EN15194 declaration sighted, this is Pedal's claim not a verified certificate.
PedalClipper 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand's own spec sheet: Bafang G010, 250W, 32Nm, 25km/h cutoff, no throttle. Claim, not a sighted certificate.
PedalDynamo 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand's own spec sheet: 36V 250W hub motor (Shengyi M1213), maximum speed assist explicitly listed as 25km/h, no throttle. Claim, not a sighted certificate.
PedalEagle ST250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand's own spec sheet: Ananda M60 mid-drive listed as 250W nominal, 25km/h assist cutoff (motor model string reads Ananda M60 25KPH), no throttle. Claim, not a sighted certificate.
PedalPacker250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)250W mid-drive, 25km/h cap, no throttle, AU and NZ RCM-marked charger.
PedalUptown SL (7-Speed)250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Listing states a 32Nm Bafang G010 motor, the same 250W unit Pedal uses on the Clipper 2 where wattage is confirmed. This specific listing does not itself print a wattage figure. No throttle mentioned. Claim, not a sighted certificate.
PolygonSiskiu T7E250WNoYesRoad legal (verified)Shimano EP6 motor ships with EN 15194-compliant firmware by default.
ReidLet's Moto Fat eBike250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Reid asserts Australian pedelec compliance (pedal assist only, 25 km/h cut-off, 250W). No published EN 15194 certificate found for this specific model. Reid is NOT currently shipping the Let's Moto to NSW due to NSW e-bike shipping restrictions. The moped-style frame geometry may attract additional scrutiny from law enforcement in states that are actively enforcing non-compliant e-bike rules, even if the motor configuration is technically compliant. Buyers should confirm current state rules before purchase.
ReidLet's Roll Step-Through eBike250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Reid asserts AU pedelec compliance (250W, pedal-assist only, 25 km/h cut-off). No per-model EN 15194 declaration found. Reid currently unable to ship to NSW due to NSW e-bike shipping restrictions.
Riese & MullerCarrie2 City250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerCharger5 Vario Core250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerCulture Touring250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerHomage5 Vario250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerLoad4 60 Touring250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)The Load4 60's own AU page lists the motor only as 'Bosch Cargo Line (smart system)' without a plain-text wattage or km/h figure. That exact motor name is confirmed elsewhere at 250W nominal and 25 km/h AU cutoff on sister models using the identical Bosch Cargo Line unit (Packster2 70 via Dutch Cargo Bike's spec sheet, Load5 75 via Electric Bikes Brisbane's listing). No throttle listed in any component/accessory list. Reviewer should independently confirm the 250W figure applies unchanged to Load4 60 before publishing if in doubt.
Riese & MullerMulticharger3 Touring250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerMultitinker2 Vario250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch mid-drive, rated 250W with assist cutting at 25 km/h, pedal assist only. The Australian bikes are the 25 km/h pedelec tune, not the 45 km/h S-Pedelec, which is not road legal here.
Riese & MullerNevo5 Vario CORE250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)R&M's own AU-localised (en-au) configurator page states the Performance Line PX motor cuts out at 25 km/h for AU/EU (vs a 20mph Sport tune for US/OS markets). No throttle listed anywhere in the component or accessory list, pedal assist only. Nominal motor wattage was not stated in plain text on the page, so it is left out of this manifest rather than assumed.
Riese & MullerPackster2 70 CT Touring250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Retailer's own spec widget explicitly separates AU (25 kmph) from NZ (32 kmph) maximum assisted speed for the same physical bike, region set by software limiter. AU-shipped units confirmed 250W motor power, torque sensor pedal assist, no throttle listed. Walk assist is present but that is the standard low-speed push function, not a riding throttle.
ScottPatron 920250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX, 250W rated, pedal-assist only, cuts at 25km/h.
SmartMotionRenegade250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Cadence-sensor pedal assist, no throttle. Sold as a 250W 25km/h pedelec.
SpecializedLevo 4 EVO Comp Alloy250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)EVO is the long-travel enduro build of the Levo Comp Alloy.
SpecializedS-Works Turbo Kenevo SL 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Confirmed on the live specialized.com/au product page: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Specialized's own marketing copy elsewhere describes this motor delivering 'up to 20mph/32kph' assist, which is the US/unrestricted-region tune; the AU page explicitly claims the 25km/h EN15194 figure instead. Pedelec only, no throttle. Enduro eMTB intended for off-road use; speed limit is a road/road-related-area requirement.
SpecializedTurbo Como 3.0 IGH250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Quoted directly off the live specialized.com/au product page: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Pedelec only, no throttle.
SpecializedTurbo Como 4.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Como 4.0's own AU product page (206175) has been retired/404s post-refresh; compliance wording quoted here is the identical boilerplate confirmed live on the Como 3.0 IGH and Vado 4.0 AU pages, which is standard across the whole Turbo range: EN15194 compliant, 250W continuous, 25km/h, pedelec only.
SpecializedTurbo Como 5.0 IGH250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU spec is a 250W 25km/h pedelec. Automatic Enviolo hub and Gates belt for low-maintenance city riding.
SpecializedTurbo Creo 2 Comp E5 (SRAM Apex Eagle)250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Confirmed on the live specialized.com/au product page: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Some international reviews quote a much higher 'theoretical' top speed (around 50km/h) calculated from cadence and gearing, that is a mechanical ceiling, not the assist cutoff; the brand's own AU-facing compliance claim is the standard 25km/h pedelec limit. Pedelec only, no throttle.
SpecializedTurbo Levo 4 Comp Alloy250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Motor 105Nm peak; AU assist capped at 250W nominal and 25km/h.
SpecializedTurbo Levo SL 2 Comp Alloy250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Confirmed on the live specialized.com/au product page for this nameplate: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Motor is rated 320W nominal per Specialized's own spec sheet; brand still markets AU units under the 250W continuous / 25km/h EN15194 claim. Pedelec only, no throttle. As an eMTB this is intended primarily for off-road trail use; the 25km/h limit is only enforced/relevant on roads and road-related areas.
SpecializedTurbo Tero 4.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Specialized AU lists 250W nominal and 25km/h behaviour for the Tero family.
SpecializedTurbo Tero X 6.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Quoted directly off the live specialized.com/au product page: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Pedelec only, no throttle. Note category here is a stretch: Tero X is really an SUV/adventure hybrid, closest fit in this schema's category list is urban-commuter.
SpecializedTurbo Vado 4.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Specialized's own AU product page carries a standard Local Laws Warning Notice: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h) as required on NSW roads and road related areas.' Pedelec only, no throttle. Claimed by brand, not an independently sighted conformity declaration.
SpecializedTurbo Vado 5.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Listed and priced on the Specialized AU store, currently sold out at time of check.
SpecializedTurbo Vado SL 2 4.0250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Specialized SL 1.1 motor is designed to EN 15194 specification. AU dealer confirmed pedelec-only.
SpecializedTurbo Vado SL 2 5.0 EQ250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Same Local Laws Warning Notice as the rest of the Turbo range: 'EN15194 compliant (250W Cont, 25km/h)'. Motor is rated 320W nominal by Specialized's own marketing copy; brand still markets AU units as EN15194 (250W continuous) compliant. Pedelec only, no throttle.
Super73S2 Special Edition250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Marketed as street legal at 250W 25km/h (EN15194 and UL2271 certified). It is a throttle-platform with a cadence sensor, so assist feel is switch-like rather than a torque-sensor pedelec.
Super73ZX Special Edition250WYesYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Sold as a 250W 25km/h EPAC bicycle (EN15194 and UL2271 certified). The listing markets an app-unlockable off-road throttle mode above 45km/h that is not road-legal in any Australian state.
Sur-RonLight Bee X8000WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)Off-road and closed-course use only. No pedals, throttle drive, and power and speed far exceed the AU 250W 25km/h pedelec rules. Not road-legal in Australia.
Sur-RonUltra Bee12500WYesNoNot road legal (off road only)Off-road and closed-course use only in this trim. No pedals, throttle drive, far exceeds pedelec limits. A separate ADR-compliant LAMS version is the only road-legal option in Australia.
TernGSD P00 Gen 3250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting. Sydney stockist Glow Worm lists the GSD P00 Gen 3 as not currently available for sale pending NSW ebike certification requirements, checked June 2026.
TernGSD S10250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Cargo Line motor is EN 15194 compliant by design. AU-spec confirmed pedelec-only.
TernHSD P5i250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting.
TernQuick Haul Long D9250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)AU-spec pedelec only. EN 15194 claim pending brand declaration sighting.
TernVektron S10250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Active Line Plus is EN 15194 certified. AU spec is pedelec-only.
TrekAllant+ 7 Gen 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU product page names the motor as Bosch Performance Line CX and states 85 Nm torque, but does not publish nominal motor wattage, throttle presence, or speed limit on this page. Model number shown is 5293752.
TrekAllant+ 7 Lowstep Gen 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Performance Line CX with Smart System, 85 Nm. Trek AU spec pedelec only.
TrekDomane+ SLR 7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU's Domane+ Carbon family panel states "Motor TQ-HPR50, 50 Nm, 250 watt maximum continuous rated power, 300 watt peak power" and a stated top assist speed of 25 km/h, one of only two Trek AU pages in this pass to publish an explicit wattage figure. Throttle presence is not stated, TQ HPR50 is a pedal assist only system with no throttle on every market Trek sells it in, but this was not independently confirmed on the AU page.
TrekFetch+ 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU states "Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250W" directly on the product spec panel, which is the only Trek AU page in this research pass to publish an explicit wattage figure. Throttle presence and top assist speed are not stated. Model number shown is 5284764.
TrekFuel EXe 9.5250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Lightweight trail eMTB. TQ HPR50 mid-drive, 360Wh battery, 160Wh range extender available.
TrekFX+ 2 LT250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU spec is pedelec only. Hyena torque-sensing rear hub.
TrekMarlin+ 8250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU names the motor brand as Bosch and states 50 Nm torque and a 400 Wh battery, but does not publish nominal motor wattage, throttle presence, or speed limit. Model number shown is 5303514.
TrekRail+ 5 Gen 5250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Full-power enduro eMTB. Bosch CX 85Nm, 800Wh removable battery, PowerMore booster compatible.
TrekRail+ 8 Gen 5250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Same sourcing basis as the Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 entry in this manifest: Trek AU's family page states 85 Nm of torque on a Bosch motor, but no wattage, throttle, or speed limit figure is published for this specific SKU. Model number shown is 5348331.
TrekRail+ 9.8 Gen 5250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU's Rail+ family page states the range runs a Bosch motor with 85 Nm of torque, corroborated by third party press coverage of the Rail+ Gen 5 platform (Bosch Performance Line CX), but AU does not publish nominal wattage, throttle presence, or speed limit for this specific SKU. Battery size of 800 Wh matches the already listed Rail+ 5 Gen 5 on eBikeFinder.au, which shares the same platform. Model number shown is 5348438.
TrekSlash+ 9.7250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU's own marketing copy names "TQ's natural-feeling HPR50 motor" but does not publish torque, wattage, or battery size on the AU pages captured in this pass. Torque (50 Nm) and battery (580 Wh standard, with a 360 Wh or range extender option) are taken from independent bike press coverage (Bikerumor) of the global Slash+ launch, not from an AU-specific source, since Trek AU does not publish these figures on the product listing. Flag for a second look before publish given the battery figure is press sourced rather than brand AU sourced. Model number shown is 5337443.
TrekVerve+ 1 LT Lowstep Gen 2250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Trek AU spec is pedelec only.
Urban ArrowFamily Performance Line Plus250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Bosch Smart System (BES3), 545Wh. EPP box with three-point harness for two to three children.
Urban ArrowFlatbed Cargo XL250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Commercial flatbed for city distribution; high system weight rating around 250kg.
VamosEl Amigo500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Not road legal in Australia as sold. Vamos rates these bikes at 500W continuous, above the 250W pedal-assist limit, and fits a throttle. Vamos's own copy says the throttle is permitted only on private property and must be disabled in public spaces. Assist is capped at 25 km/h by default but the brand documents an unlock well above that.
VamosEl Doblez500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Not road legal in Australia as sold. Vamos rates these bikes at 500W continuous, above the 250W pedal-assist limit, and fits a throttle. Vamos's own copy says the throttle is permitted only on private property and must be disabled in public spaces. Assist is capped at 25 km/h by default but the brand documents an unlock well above that.
VamosEl Rapido500WYesYesNot road legal (off road only)Not road legal in Australia as sold. Vamos rates these bikes at 500W continuous, above the 250W pedal-assist limit, and fits a throttle. Vamos's own copy says the throttle is permitted only on private property and must be disabled in public spaces. Assist is capped at 25 km/h by default but the brand documents an unlock well above that.
VelectriXAscent 24250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29798. 250W rated rear hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXAscent 27.5250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29798 (same certificate number as Ascent 24). 250W rated rear hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXAscent 29250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29663 (same certificate number quoted on the Urban ST listing, worth a sanity check with the brand). 250W rated rear hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXAscent X250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29664. 250W rated mid-drive motor, torque sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXCruiser X ST250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29887. 250W rated mid-drive motor, torque sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXFoldaway200WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29683. 200W rated front hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned anywhere in the listing.
VelectriXSUV250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29589. 250W rated rear hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
VelectriXUrban Pulse250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)Brand states 250W rated output with pedal-assist cut at 25 km/h. Pedal assist only, no throttle. Some NSW-specific 500W variants sit outside this entry.
VelectriXUrban ST250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)VelectriX states EN15194 testing and quotes NSW Compliance Certificate #NSW29663. 250W rated rear hub motor, cadence sensor pedal assist only, no throttle mentioned.
YubaKombi E6250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)UL2849 and EN15194 certified; 200kg maximum payload.
YubaSpicy Curry V4250WNoYesRoad legal (brand claimed)UL2849 and EN15194 certified; 200kg maximum payload.

Common questions

What makes an e-bike road legal in Australia?

Nationally, a road-legal e-bike is a pedal-assist bicycle with a motor rated to 250W of continuous power that cuts assistance at 25km/h, and the motor must only help while you pedal. A hand throttle that drives the bike without pedalling (above a 6km/h walk-assist) pushes it outside the bicycle rules and into unregistered-motorbike territory. Some states historically allowed a 200W throttle bike, but the 250W pedal-assist standard is the one accepted everywhere.

Is a 250W e-bike legal in Australia?

A 250W pedal-assist e-bike that cuts out at 25km/h is legal to ride on roads and paths in every state and territory, provided it meets the pedal-assist rule and the rider follows local road rules and helmet laws. Watts alone are not the whole story: the cut-off speed and whether it has a throttle also matter.

What happens if my e-bike is illegal?

On a road, footpath or shared path a non-compliant e-bike is treated as an unregistered, uninsured motorbike, which means fines and demerit exposure. In NSW and Queensland, police can now seize and destroy e-bikes that have been modified to exceed the limits. In the September 2026 Northern Beaches operation, NSW Police tested bikes on the spot with a dynamometer and seized 36.

How did you decide if each e-bike is road legal?

We use each model's rated motor power, whether it has a driving throttle, and its assistance cut-off speed, checked against manufacturer and distributor information. Bikes we have confirmed against a compliance source are marked verified; brand-claimed means the specification says it complies but we have not independently confirmed it; off-road only means the specification exceeds the pedal-assist rules. Always confirm the current specification with the seller, because the same model name is sometimes sold in both a compliant and a non-compliant version.

Keep reading

Operation E-Voltage details reported by the Northern Beaches Advocate, 12 September 2026. Compliance status is checked against manufacturer and distributor information; confirm the current specification with the seller before you buy.